Volunteer of the Year

Every year, more than 300 AUTM members donate time and expertise to AUTM. These members serve on committees, task forces and the AUTM Board of Directors as members, chairs and officers. Volunteers play an integral role in the day-to-day operations of the association and help chart the future of academic technology transfer.

AUTM gratefully recognizes the dedication of volunteers with certificates of appreciation, acknowledgements in publications and programs and awards for achievements and outstanding contributions to the association.

All AUTM Service Award winners are considered by the AUTM Executive Committee for the Volunteer of the Year Award. This highest accolade is awarded annually and recognizes leadership and outstanding contributions to the association.

2018 Volunteer of the Year – AUTM Audit Committee

Evaluation Criteria

Nominations for AUTM Service Awards and the AUTM Volunteer of the Year Award are evaluated, in part, by assessing the following criteria:
  1. Attendance in committee meetings and conference calls
  2. Active participation in committee and volunteer activities
    1. bringing up innovative ideas
    2. execution of these ideas
  3. Demonstrated passion for the profession
  4. Positive attitude
  5. Recruitment and encouragement of other members

Past Recipients

The following individuals have received the AUTM Volunteer of the Year Award in recognition of their leadership and outstanding contributions to the association.

2017 Recipient
Stephen Auvil

2016 Recipient
Peter C. Gonczlik, MBA, BSIE

2015 Recipient
Hassan R. Naqvi

2014 Recipient
Monya Dunlap

2013 Recipient
Michael Waring

2012 Recipient
Nicole Baute Honoree

2011 Recipients
Alan R. Bentley
Yatin S. Karpe

2010 Recipients
Frances Galvin
Jennifer Gottwald
Sally Hines
Joshua Powers
Laura Savatski
Stephen Susalka
Jude Wilkinson
Fred Reinhart