Howard Bremer Scholarship

Launched in 2002, the Howard Bremer Scholarship is an annual scholarship program that supports students and professionals new to the field pursuing a career in technology transfer. Named to honor our esteemed colleague, a pioneering AUTM member and past president of the association (1978–1979), the scholarship is awarded to those who—like Bremer— wish to bring creativity and innovation to the academic technology transfer profession.

What Past Winners Say

"As a Howard Bremer Scholar I have put more emphasis on bringing creativity, innovation and education to the forefront of our Office. This includes examining different models of revenue generation, engagement of the campus community and looking at new ways to streamline services. Although technology transfer has matured since its conception, there is still a lot to learn in terms of engagement of academia and industry. Receiving the Howard Bremer Scholarship has inspired me to look at the field of technology transfer in a new light and strive to weave innovative and creative processes into helping move technologies forward."

— Artie Carlyle Rogers, 2015 Howard Bremer Scholar









"I was thrilled to be recognized for innovative efforts that improve technology transfer processes. I continue to be involved in a number of initiatives to bring creativity to the field, including strengthening the connection between technology transfer professionals and scientists, enhancing technology transfer education for scientists, and incorporating new technology portals into our marketing campaigns. Being honored as a Howard Bremer Scholar inspires me to continue these efforts and to spread the word about improving technology transfer."

— Laura Prestia, 2016 Howard Bremer Scholar 


"As a scientist by training, I have always been interested in the translation of research discoveries into real-world applications. When I was first introduced to AUTM, I was very keen to learn more about technology transfer and had decided to volunteer with AUTM to contribute to the greater good of technology commercialization. Being awarded the AUTM Howard Bremer scholarship further reinforces my passion for academic-industrial partnership and to live up to the Howard Bremer legacy of advocating and enhancing technology transfer by incorporating novel findings by AUTM into my day-to-day responsibilities and promoting AUTM volunteerism to achieve its mission and goals.”"

— Norman Ong, 2016 Howard Bremer Scholar




Scholarship Details

The Howard Bremer Scholarship program supports the travel and registration costs of up to five people to attend the AUTM Annual Meeting. The scholarship’s goal is to foster educational opportunities for individuals who are committed to the vision of technology transfer and are novices in the field. AUTM will select up to five scholars, who will receive:
  • Complimentary registration to the AUTM Annual Meeting
  • $500 honorarium
  • Travel support up to $1,300 to the AUTM Annual Meeting
  • Formal recognition at the AUTM Annual Meeting

How to Apply 

Click here to learn more about applying for a Howard Bremer Scholarship. 

2017 Recipients 

Zeinab Abouissa, Washington State University
Saunder Ching, University of California, San Francisco
Rozzy Finn, University of South Dakota
Kenneth Karanja, University of Iowa Research Foundation
Vishalakshi Krishnan, Henry Ford Hospital System

Past Recipients

2016 Brian Bender
Dana M. Hutchison
Laura T. Prestia, PhD
Norman Kuok Teong Ong
Jennifer P. Richards
2015 Farnaz R. Bakhshi
Shannon Fraser
Cory Ungles Lago
Artie Carlyle Rogers
Dustin J. Shilling
2014 Ramika Bansi
Mrinmoy Chakrabarti
Masood Ahammed Machingal
Suguna Rachakonda
Qian Zhang
2013 Ramzi Asfour
Neil Bajpayee
Chalonda Handy
Mary Beth Hughes Campbell
Michelle Johnson

Linara Axanova
Derek Francis
Angela Garrison
Norell Hadzimichalis
Nisha Narayan


Amit Kumar
Jacob Rooksby
Brian Shedd
Kaitlyn Turo
Wendy Zimbone  


Ruth Ann Epling
Vijay Iyer
N'Goundo Magassa
Jeremy Nelson
Vinay Tannan


Darya Bubman
Susan Dollinger
Karl Fultz
Kathryn Nguyen
Michael  Perham  


Sabarni Chatterjee
Joy Goswami  
Mikael Herlevsen
Baidehi Mukherjee
Avni Rambhia


C. Kuyler Doyle
Peggy  Rematier
Natalia Agisheva
Vivek Ramakrishnan  


James  Hoberg
Tania Massa
Shoji  Takahashi
Judy Lille Tidwell
Pearlanne Zelarney 


Adam Falconer
Lisa Goble
Joel Goertz
Dipanjan Nag
Orakanoke Phanraksa 


Milton Lore
Gregory Schreiber
Alethea  Pounds
Sita Pappu

2003 Celika Caldwell
Frank Boschi