Bayh-Dole Award

The Bayh-Dole Award is given in recognition of the recipient’s untiring efforts to foster and promote intellectual property activities on behalf of the university and nonprofit community.


2015 Bayh-Dole Award – Michael A. Waring

ImageMike Waring is Executive Director of Federal Relations for the University of Michigan and has served as Director of its Washington DC Office since 2000. A native of Michigan who grew up in the DC area, Mike graduated from the University of Michigan and then worked as a broadcast journalist in Iowa. In 1982, he came back to DC and became a legislative aide and press secretary to Rep. Harold Rogers (R-KY). He later became Vice President of Government Relations for the National Association of Broadcasters, where he worked on a variety of legislative issues. In his current position, Mike oversees federal lobbying activities for Michigan. He also works closely with numerous higher education associations, notably the Association of American Universities (AAU) and the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), where he has been extremely active on tech transfer and patent issues. He currently serves as Chair of the AAU IP Task Force.

Mike serves as AUTM’s Assistant Vice President for Advocacy and has been heavily involved in helping the association manage its Washington activities. He received the AUTM Volunteer of the Year Award in 2013.


Past Recipients:

2014 Jon Soderstrom, PhD
2013 Mark Crowell
2012 Marjorie Forster
Jean A. Mahoney
Eugene Schuler
2011 Robert B. Hardy, J.D.
2010 Janna C. Tom
2009 James H. Turner, Jr.
2008 Andrew Cohn
2007 Ashley J. Stevens, D. Phil. (Oxon), CLP, RTTP
2006 Council on Governmental Relations (COGR)
Patricia Weeks, RTTP
2005 Ako Nishizawa
James A. Severson, Ph.D.
2004 Niels Reimers
2002 Maria Freire, Ph.D.
2001 Katharine Ku
Lita Nelsen, RTTP
2000 Terence A. Feuerborn
1999 Joseph P. Allen
1998 Joyce Brinton
1997 Karen Hersey, J.D.
Katharina Phillips
1996 Edward L. MacCordy
1995 Roger G. Ditzel
1983 Norman J. Latker, J.D.
1980 Howard W. Bremer