Howard Bremer Scholarship

Launched in 2002, the Howard Bremer Scholarship is an annual scholarship program that supports students and professionals new to the field pursuing a career in technology transfer. Named to honor our esteemed colleague, a pioneering AUTM member and past president of the association (1978–1979), the scholarship is awarded to those who—like Bremer— wish to bring creativity and innovation to the academic technology transfer profession. Learn more about Howard Bremer’s legacy.

The 2016 Howard Bremer Scholarship program supports the travel and registration costs of up to five people to attend the AUTM 2016 Annual Meeting. The scholarship’s goal is to foster educational opportunities for individuals who are committed to the vision of technology transfer and are novices in the field.

How to Apply

2016 scholarship applications are now being accepted through August 17, 2015. Click here to learn more about applying for a Howard Bremer Scholarship.


Photo: AUTM President, Fred Reinhart (left) and then-President, Jane Muir (right) with Franaz R. Bakhshi (top left), Shannon Fraser (top right), Artie Carlyle Rogers (bottom left), and Dustin J. Shilling (bottom right).

2015 Recipients

Farnaz R. Bakhshi, California Institute of Technology (Caltech)
Shannon Fraser, Auckland UniServices LTD
Cory Ungles Lago
Artie Carlyle Rogers, East Carolina University, Office of Tech Transfer
Dustin J. Shilling, The Wistar Institute

Past Recipients:

2014 Ramika Bansi
Mrinmoy Chakrabarti
Masood Ahammed Machingal
Suguna Rachakonda
Qian Zhang
2013 Ramzi Asfour
Neil Bajpayee
Chalonda Handy
Mary Beth Hughes Campbell
Michelle Johnson

Linara Axanova
Derek Francis
Angela Garrison
Norell Hadzimichalis
Nisha Narayan


Amit Kumar
Jacob Rooksby
Brian Shedd
Kaitlyn Turo
Wendy Zimbone  


Ruth Ann Epling
Vijay Iyer
N'Goundo Magassa
Jeremy Nelson
Vinay Tannan


Darya Bubman
Susan Dollinger
Karl Fultz
Kathryn Nguyen
Michael  Perham  


Sabarni Chatterjee
Mikael Herlevsen
Baidehi Mukherjee
Avni Rambhia
Jaideep (Joy) Goswami  


C. Kuyler Doyle
Peggy  Rematier
Natalia Agisheva
Vivek Ramakrishnan  


James  Hoberg
Tania Massa
Shoji  Takahashi
Judy Lille Tidwell
Pearlanne Zelarney 


Adam Falconer
Lisa Goble
Joel Goertz
Dipanjan Nag
Orakanoke Phanraksa 


Milton Lore
Gregory Schreiber
Alethea  Pounds
Sita Pappu

2003 Celika Caldwell
Frank Boschi